67th Annual Public Servants Luncheon

Back to News 

Bar Foundation to Host 67th Annual Public Servants Luncheon
Special Recognition Planner for Gerald Fuerst 

CLEVELAND – September 11, 2013 – The Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Foundation (CMBF) is proud to present the 67th Annual Franklin A. Polk Public Servants Merit Awards Luncheon on Friday, September 20 from 12 to 1:15 p.m. at the Cleveland Marriott at Key Center. The Awards Luncheon celebrates and honors public servants whose everyday commitment ensures full access to the justice system. This year, special recognition also will be given to Gerald Fuerst, retired clerk of courts of Cuyahoga County, for his 37 years of service.

Each year city and county courts and government agencies are asked to nominate eligible recipients for their outstanding service to the legal profession, the general public, and our justice system. These merit awards are given for long and faithful service, devotion to duty, wise counsel, unfailing patience, and assistance to the public and members of the Bench and Bar of this county.

The 2013 Honorees are:

Bruce J. Bishilany – Court of Common Pleas
Karmin Bryant – Cuyahoga County Juvenile Court
Vincent Dudley – Domestic Relations Court
Jim Kaye – Cuyahoga County Clerk of Court
Jerome Krakowski – Cleveland Municipal Court
David Parchem – Eighth District Court of Appeals
Eunice Ramsey – United States Bankruptcy Court, Northern District of Ohio
Tina Rose – Cuyahoga County Probate Court
Maria Vargas – Cleveland Municipal Court Clerk’s Office
Barbara Wirtz – City of Parma Law Department

“Each year this event gives us, the entire legal community, the opportunity to honor and thank public servants for their service and counsel to attorneys and the public,” said Ginger Mlakar, president of the CMBF.  “In addition to our nominated honorees, we are pleased to have the chance to honor Gerald Fuerst for his decades of service and commitment to the county.

The plan to honor deserving public servants was inaugurated in 1947 by the late Raymond D. Metzner, a past president of the Cuyahoga County Bar Association (CCBA). CCBA Past President Franklin A. Polk served annually as continuous chairman until 1986. Polk was involved with this program until his passing in 1991. In 1986, the Public Servants Merit Award was renamed the "Franklin A. Polk Public Servants Merit Award" to honor Polk's dedication and outstanding service to the CCBA and Cuyahoga County Bar Foundation (CCBF). In 2009, the Cleveland Bar Foundation and CCBF unified as the CMBF.

Sponsors* for this year’s event include: Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP; Cleveland-Marshall College of Law; Greater Cleveland Partnership; Kronenberg + Belovich Law LLC; Mansour, Gavin, Gerlack & Manos Co., L.P.A.; Nurenberg Paris Heller & McCarthy Co LPA; Reminger Co. L.P.A.; Squire Sanders (US) LLP; Tucker Ellis LLP; Ulmer & Berne LLP; Walter | Haverfield; Weltman, Weinberg & Reis Co., L.P.A.; Hon. Diane Karpinski (retired); Lynn Lazzaro; Scott Lewis; Lori Luka; and Barbara Roman.

*Sponsors current as of release date. 

For more information regarding the event, tickets or sponsorship, visit www.clemetrobar.org/public_servants.

 About the CMBF
The Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Foundation is the charitable arm and partner of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association. It raises funds to support the important public outreach activities of the Association, which are organized primarily under the Justice For All umbrella. These activities include a variety of pro bono legal service, law-related education, tutoring and mentoring programs. Additionally, the CMBF assists the Association’s diversity and inclusion initiatives aimed at improving the pipeline of minority students entering the legal profession. www.clemetrobar.org/Foundation.